How do I start a brewery in Michigan?

How do I start a brewery in Michigan?

Eight startup steps for opening a microbrewery in Michigan

  1. Research.
  2. Develop a Business Plan.
  3. Formation of Companies.
  4. Secure the Brewery Location.
  5. Licenses from MLCC, TTB and County Health Department.
  6. Build-out of Microbrewery.
  7. Recruiting a Brewer.
  8. Walk before you Run.

How much is a beer license in Michigan?

Complete data

[hide]Liquor license fees by state, 2018
State Liquor license fee (for a restaurant to sell beer, wine, and liquor on site) Duration
Maryland $2,500.00 Annual
Massachusetts $2,000.00 Annual
Michigan $600.00 Annual

Is it legal to brew your own beer in Michigan?

Michigan law allows a brewer to operate under either a brewer’s, brewpub or micro-brewery license. A brewery license permits manufacturing an unlimited quantity of beer. Brewers may sell the beer they produce to licensed wholesalers, but many not sell directly to retailers.

What licenses are needed to start a microbrewery?

Other licenses required for the setup:

  • Commercial Electricity line.
  • Commercial water line- Municipality/ under ground bore water.
  • Land registration/ Lease sanction.
  • Company registration.
  • Waste water disposal certificate from pollution control board.

Can I sell my home brewed beer?

That’s something that could perk up the ears of those who dabble in hops and grains at home, because federal law has been very clear historically: Selling a home brewed beer is illegal.

Can micro breweries serve food?

California breweries and distilleries can serve drinks without food, but some rules still apply. California breweries, wineries and distilleries will no longer be required to sell meals with outdoor drink service, according to a state Department of Public Health announcement Thursday.

How much is a liquor license in Michigan 2020?

Fees: $300 (Varies) :License and Permit Fee for clubs having 150 or fewer duly accredited members and $1.00 for each additional member. Membership list must be submitted unless it exceeds a fee of $750 ( more than 600 members). For: Hotels seeking to sell beer and wine for on premise consumption.

Do you need a liquor license to sell beer and wine in Michigan?

MI – A Class C Liquor License allows a business to sell beer, wine, spirits, and mixed drinks for consumption on the premises. This is a quota liquor license, which means the state no longer issues them. An SDD license must be purchased from someone willing to sell it in your county, through the auction.

Can you make your own alcohol in Michigan?

It is legal to own a still in the state of Michigan and the still can be used for non-ethanol production such as distilling wine, essential oils, etc. Based off the wording of the laws it does seem like it is illegal to produce moonshine for personal or to transport it.

How much beer can you make at home?

Generally, you’re allowed to make up to 100 gallons of beer per person – with a cap of 200 gallons per household, regardless of the number of adults living there.

How do I start a small brewery?

Ten Key Legal Steps You Need to Take to Start Your Own Brewery

  1. Step #1: Choose a Name.
  2. Step #2: Form an Entity.
  3. Step #3: File a Trademark for Your Brewery Name.
  4. Step #4: File Trademarks for Your Beer Names.
  5. Step #5: Lease a Space for Your Brewery.
  6. Step #6: Have Your Brewer and Other Key Employees Sign Employment Agreements.

How to transfer a liquor license in Michigan?

Michigan licensing process. • Purchase Agreement – Applicants requesting to transfer a license from another licensee must submit an executed purchase agreement or other documentation signed by both the applicant and the current licensee, which details the sale of the liquor license(s) and other business assets.

How to register beer and wine in Michigan?

Michigan Wholesale Product Registry (MWPR) Online Portal – Register beer and wine products through the MWPR system prior to selling in Michigan

What is the Beer franchise Code in Michigan?

Beer Franchise Code – Michigan Liquor Control Code sections that explain the requirements for agreements between Wholesaler licensees and beer supplier licensees Beer Price Filing Requirements – Information on mandatory price filings for beer products sold by a Wholesaler licensee

How to contact the Michigan Liquor Control Commission?

If you have any additional questions not addressed below, please contact the MLCC, toll-free, at 866-813-0011. Under 21 Penalty Sign – REQUIRED TO BE POSTED BY LICENSEE IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE UNDER MCL 436.1701 (1) – This sign provides a warning of the penalties of selling or serving alcohol to someone under the age of 21.