What are the six components of information warfare?

What are the six components of information warfare?

However, Nichiporuk describes in his book six main components that fall under information warfare that we can define to help understand the term as a concept (Nichiporuk 1999). Those terms are electronic warfare, operations security, deception, physical attack, information attack and psychological warfare.

What are the types of information warfare?

Information operation can be divided into offensive IO (e.g., computer network attack, command and control warfare, special information operations), civil affairs, public affairs (media warfare), and defensive IO (e.g., physical security, computer network defense, and counter propaganda) (Huhtinen & Rantapelkonen, 2002 …

What is offensive information warfare?

Offensive information warfare seeks dominance over the enemy’s information, computer information systems, and control systems using a myriad of tools. Attacks can be launched against the enemy’s physical computer network, its supporting infrastructure, or a product of the network.

What are the components of information warfare?

The components of Information Warfare may constitute of electronic warfare, psychological operations, Cyber warfare, military deception and Operational security.

What are the principles of information warfare?

The principles of Information Warfare explain what need to be done to win an information war. The strategies here explain how it is to be done. The four basic strategies [9] are as follow: Denial of Information, • Deception and Mimicry, • Disruption and Destruction and • Subversion.

What is Information Warfare?

“Information Warfare is any action to Deny, Exploit, Corrupt or Destroy the enemy’s information and its functions; protecting ourselves against those actions and exploiting our own military information functions”.

How is Information Warfare used?

Information warfare may involve the collection of tactical information, assurance(s) that one’s information is valid, spreading of propaganda or disinformation to demoralize or manipulate the enemy and the public, undermining the quality of the opposing force’s information and denial of information-collection …

What are the two categories of information warfare?

The federal government’s definition of information warfare can be divided into three general categories: offensive, defensive, and exploitative.

What is the meaning of Information Warfare?

What is offensive information operations?

The integrated use of assigned and supporting capabilities and activities, mutually supported by intelligence, to affect adversary decision makers to achieve or promote specific objectives.

What are the four major categories of cyberterrorism and/or Information Warfare?

There are five main types of cyber terrorism attack which are incursion, destruction , disinformation, denial of service and defacement of web sites. Some of these attacks are more severe than the others and have different objectives.