What curriculum does New Zealand use?

What curriculum does New Zealand use?

The National Curriculum
The National Curriculum is the term used to refer to The New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa. These set the direction for student learning and guide schools and kura as they design and implement a curriculum that meets the needs of their students.

What are the key competencies in NZ curriculum?

Key competencies are the capabilities people have, and need to develop, to live and learn today and in the future.

  • Thinking.
  • Relating to others.
  • Using language, symbols, and texts.
  • Managing self.
  • Participating and contributing.

What are the 8 key learning areas?

Information about Key Learning Areas (KLAs)

  • English;
  • Mathematics;
  • Science and Technology;
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE);
  • Creative and Practical Arts; and.
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE).

How many strands are in the science curriculum?

three strands
Together, the three strands of the science curriculum provide students with understanding, knowledge and skills through which they can develop a scientific view of the world.

How does the New Zealand Curriculum work?

The New Zealand Curriculum aims to create young people who are “confident, connected, actively involved, lifelong learners”. It includes five key competencies to help children do well in life – thinking; using language, symbols and text; managing self; relating to others; participating and contributing.

Does New Zealand have a good education system?

Some Facts about Education in New Zealand You can expect to find good quality education in New Zealand. New Zealand is among the top 20 OECD countries for quality of education; New Zealand has eight universities and all of them are among the top 500 in the world.

What are the curriculum competencies?

A curriculum that emphasizes the complex outcomes of a learning process (i.e. knowledge, skills and attitudes to be applied by learners) rather than mainly focusing on what learners are expected to learn about in terms of traditionally-defined subject content.

What are the 8 key competencies?

The Reference Framework (2018) sets out eight key competences: 1) Literacy competence; 2) Multilingual competence; 3) Mathematical competence and competence in science, technology and engineering; 4) Digital competence; 5) Personal, social and learning to learn competence; 6) Civic competence; 7) Entrepreneurship …

What are the 9 learning areas in a school?

Key learning areas

  • Creative arts. Students discover a variety of art forms through a study of dance, drama, music and visual arts where they learn to appreciate, make and perform.
  • English.
  • HSIE.
  • Languages.
  • Mathematics.
  • PDHPE.
  • Science.
  • TAS.

What are the 6 learning areas?

The Areas of Learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
  • Communication and Language.
  • Physical Development.
  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding of the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

What are the contents of science curriculum?

The curriculum content is composed of four strands: Living Things, Materials, Energy and Forces, and Environmental Awareness and Care. These strands, which are subdivided into strand units, outline the concepts and ideas to be explored by children as they work scientifically, and are involved in designing and making.

What is the curriculum for Year 7 science?

The syllabus includes chemistry, physics and biology and is designed to build on the topics the children studied at primary school. Children will be working with familiar subjects but the work will be more advanced.