What habitat do mollusks live in?

What habitat do mollusks live in?

Habitat and Locomotion Most mollusks are marine animals; some are found in shallow coastal areas and others live in the deepest parts of the ocean. Most live in the bottom sediments, though the cephalopods are primarily free-swimming species.

What are the 3 types of mollusk?

The three major groups of mollusks are gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (SEF ul o pods). The largest group is the gastropods. These are mollusks like snails and slugs that have just one shell or no shell at all.

What are the 3 main types of mollusc and briefly describe each?

The three main parts of a mollusk’s body include a muscular foot, a visceral mass, and a mantle. The three main types of mollusks are gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods. Gastropods, like slugs and snails, can live on land or in the water.

What are the 3 main body regions of mollusc describe each region?

The mollusk body can generally be divided into three regions: the head, the foot, and a cluster of internal organs called the visceral mass. The visceral mass includes many of the organs mentioned in the previous concepts such as the stomach, the heart, the nephridia, and the gonads.

What ocean zone do mollusks live in?

Hidden among rocky crevices, mollusks such as limpets, chitons and snails call the intertidal zone home.

What is the only mollusks that live on land?

This group includes land snails and land slugs.

What are the 3 major classes of phylum Mollusca?

The major classes of living mollusks include gastropods, bivalves, and cephalopods (Figure below).

  • Gastropods. Gastropods include snails and slugs. They use their foot to crawl.
  • Bivalves. Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels.
  • Cephalopods. Cephalopods include the octopus and squid.

What are the 4 major molluscs?

The four major groups of mollusks (phyla Mollusca) are: 1) chitons; 2) gastropods, including snails, slugs (mostly marine, but some freshwater), and nudibranches.

What are the 3 main body regions of mollusc?

In general, mollusks have 3 body regions: a head, a visceral mass, and a “foot.” The head contains the sense organs and “brain,” while the visceral mass contains the internal organs. The “foot” is the muscular lower part of the body which is in contact with the substrate.

What are the 3 main parts of a mollusc body?

Where are mollusks found?

Mollusks live in most terrestrial, freshwater, and marine habitats. However, the majority of species live in the ocean. They can be found in both shallow and deep water and from tropical to polar latitudes. Mollusks are a major food source for other organisms, including humans.

What lives in the pelagic zone?

Many large ocean vertebrates live in or migrate through the pelagic zone. These include cetaceans, sea turtles and large fish such as ocean sunfish (which is shown in the image), bluefin tuna, swordfish, and sharks.