How do I find out who owns land in Nova Scotia?

How do I find out who owns land in Nova Scotia?

Accessing ownership information

  1. Visit a Nova Scotia Land Registration Office in person ($6.40 per half day). Access Property Online via on-site computer terminals.
  2. Subscribe to Property Online ($96.74 per month). Includes five hours of search time.
  3. Pay-Per-Use Online ($9.60 per request).

Who landed on Cape Breton Island?

Called Île Royale when it was a French colony, it later took on the name of its eastern cape—believed to be the first land visited by John Cabot on his 1497–98 voyage and afterward probably named by Basque fishermen from Cap Breton (near Bayonne, France).

Is Cape Breton a Celtic?

Discover Your Celtic Heart in Cape Breton We celebrate and share the only living Celtic culture in North America. Whether it’s dancing to lively fiddle tunes, learning a Gaelic milling song or tracing your roots, we’d love to share our Celtic culture with you.

How many counties are in Cape Breton?

6 Sydney County was created in 1784 to administer the eastern mainland of Nova Scotia (now Antigonish and Guysborough Counties)….County Map of Nova Scotia.

County Inverness7
Shire Town Port Hood
Created 1835
Created From Cape Breton

Who owns a property Nova Scotia?

The Province owns about 35% of the land in Nova Scotia, and the rest of the land (about 65%) is owned privately, or by the federal and municipal governments. The majority of the publicly owned land is managed by the Department of Natural Resources.

What is a title search Nova Scotia?

A Nova Scotia Title Search will provide the names and addresses of all registered owners of a property, the full legal description, and will identify all of the registered charges, liens and interests filed against a property.

Who were the first settlers in Cape Breton Island?

The first permanently settled Scottish community on Cape Breton Island was Judique, settled in 1775 by Michael Mor MacDonald. He spent his first winter using his upside-down boat for shelter, which is reflected in the architecture of the village’s Community Centre.

How was Cape Breton created?

The oldest rocks in the Maritime Provinces form the Blair River inlier which is found in the northwestern corner of Cape Breton Island. These rocks were formed 1,500 to 1,000 million years ago during the collision of continental plates that resulted in the supercontinent Rodinia.

Is Nova Scotia a Celtic?

Gaelic, a Celtic language and its rich culture have helped shape Nova Scotia’s identity. Centuries ago, Gaelic speaking immigrants from both Ireland and Scotland came by the tens of thousands and made Nova Scotia their home.

What county is Cape Breton?


County County seat Population (2016)
Antigonish Antigonish 19,301
Cape Bretona Sydney 98,722
Colchester Truro 50,585
Cumberland Amherst 30,005

What does Cape Breton County include?

The municipalities from which the CBRM was created included the Municipality of the County of Cape Breton, the City of Sydney, the Towns of Glace Bay, Sydney Mines, New Waterford, North Sydney, Dominion and Louisbourg.

Where was the first registry of deeds in Cape Breton?

The Sydney Registry is the earliest one on Cape Breton Island and initially recorded land transactions from across the island prior to the establishment of other registries in Richmond County (1821), Inverness County (1825) and Victoria County (1851).

What is the history of Cape Breton Island?

Guide to Cape Breton county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records. In 1765 Cape Breton Island was set as Cape Breton County.

When was the first land grant in Cape Breton?

Asthe registry office dated from the time when Cape Breton Island was a separate colony, there are two Crown Land Grant books covering the years 1786-1791. Land Grants issued from 1822-1837 for land situated in Cape Breton Island were registered in Halifax and copied into Grant books in the Cape Breton (Sydney) Registry office in 1969.

When was Victoria County separated from Cape Breton?

In 1835 the districts became the counties of Cape Breton, Richmond, and Just au Corps (since renamed Inverness). In 1851 Victoria County was separated from Cape Breton County and given its own registry at Baddeck. From 1854 onwards the Crown Lands Act required the registration of grants in the appropriate county registry.