What was the capital of Bendel State?

What was the capital of Bendel State?

The Mid-Western Region was a division of Nigeria from 1963 to 1991, from 1976 being known as the Bendel state. It was formed in June 1963 from Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City.

What state was formerly Bendel?

Edo State
The status of the region was changed to a state on 27 May 1967, and the state was renamed Bendel State on 17 March 1976. Bendel State was divided into Delta State and Edo State on 27 August 1991….List of governors of Bendel State.

Mid-Western State Leaders Dr. Samuel Ogbemudia
Title Governor
Took office Oct 1983
Left office Dec 1983
Party NPN

What is the meaning of Bendel?

South German: metonymic occupational name for a maker or seller of ribbons and cords, from a diminutive of Middle High German band ‘band’, ‘cord’.

Is Bendel a tribe?

The group said the proposed Bendel Republic is made up of Edo and Delta states and comprise 12 tribes that include Akoko-Edo, Esan, Benin, Etsako, Owan, Anionma, Ika, Ndokwa, Urhobo, Isoko, Ijaw and Itsekiri.

What is the capital of gongola?

city of Yola
It was created on 3 February 1976 from the Adamawa and Sardauna Provinces of North State, together with the Wukari Division of the then Benue-Plateau State; it existed until 27 August 1991, when it was divided into two states – Adamawa and Taraba. The city of Yola was the capital of Gongola State.

What language does Edo State speak?

English is the official language of the state. The major tribal languages spoken in the state are Edo language, Igarra, Etsako/Afemai, Esan and Okpamheri. Edo State is home to several ethnicities, among them the Edo, Okpe, Esan, Afemai/Etsako, Ora, Akoko-Edo, Igbanke, Emai.

Which Nigerian tribe is the richest?

While the Igbos are known to be the richest tribe in Nigeria due to the business sense know how, they are also one of the most dangerous tribes in the country today. Find out the richest Yoruba men and women in Nigeria. The Igbos are known for trade and commerce.

Is Delta an Igbo state?

Delta State is a state in Nigeria, comprising mainly Igbo (Anioma people), Urhobo, Isoko, Ijaw and Itsekiri. The delta north is Igbo region, the delta central and delta south is made up of Urhobo, Ijaw, Isoko, and Itsekiri.

Who are the Westerners in Nigeria?

The Western part of Nigeria is also known as the South West. It consists of 6 states namely Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti states. The major cities in this zone include the likes of Lagos, Ibadan, Akure, Abeokuta, Ogbomoso, Osogbo and Ado-Ekiti.

Is Delta Igbo really Igbo?

The Igbo people came from different parts of what is today’s Nigeria, and settled in the area that they now call home. Some people from this area have pointed out that they have been victims of taunts by some Igbos from the East of the Niger, who have themselves said that Delta Igbos are not Igbo.

Is there anything like Delta Igbo?

Anioma are Igbo-speaking communities in Delta State. They occupy Delta North Senatorial District, which consists of the Enuani (Oshimili/Aniocha), Ika, and Ukwuani/Ndokwa linguistic zones of Delta State.

Where is gongola located?

northeastern Nigeria
Gongola River, principal tributary of the Benue River, northeastern Nigeria. It rises in several branches (including the Lere and Maijuju rivers) on the eastern slopes of the Jos Plateau and cascades (with several scenic waterfalls) onto the plains of the Gongola Basin, where it follows a northeasterly course.

When was Bendel State separated from Delta State?

In 1976 the state was renamed Bendel. It was divided into Delta State and Edo State in 1991.

Which is the oldest state in Nigeria by date of statehood?

List of Nigerian states by date of statehood State Date created Preceding Entity Abia State 27 August 1991 Imo State Adamawa State 27 August 1991 Gongola State Akwa Ibom State 23 September 1987 Cross River State Anambra State 27 August 1991 (old) Anambra State

Where was the capital of the Edo State?

It was formed in June 1963 from Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, and its capital was Benin City. It was renamed a province in 1966, and in 1967 when the other provinces were split up into several states, it remained territorially intact, becoming a state.

Which is the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria?

Nigeria have a total of 36 states and capitals. Federal Capital Territory. The federal capital territory of Nigeria is FCT Abuja. Nigerian States and Capitals. State Capital Abia State Umuahia Adamawa State Yola Akwa Ibom State Uyo Anambra State Awka Bauchi State Bauchi Bayelsa State Yenagoa Benue State Makurdi Borno State Maiduguri