What is the South American football competition called?

What is the South American football competition called?

Copa América
Copa América, (Spanish: America Cup) formerly (until 1975) South American Championship of Nations, quadrennial South American football (soccer) tournament that is the continent’s premier competition in that sport. The Copa América is the world’s oldest international football tournament.

Who can participate in Copa America?

Copa America is a 12-team event and all 10 members of the CONMEBOL participate. The two remaining spots are filled by inviting teams from other confederations. Since the 1990s, teams from North America and Asia have been invited to contest in the tournament.

How many World Cups does South America have?

National association football teams from CONMEBOL have won the tournament nine times, including Brazil’s record five championships….Overview.

Team Brazil
No. 21
Years 1930, 1934, 1938, 1950, 1954, 1958, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018
Best result 1st

How many professional soccer teams are in South America?

The Primera División is the top level of Argentine football league, and is organized by the Argentine Football Association. Founded in 1893, it currently consists of 30 teams, but is planned to reduce in size to 24 teams by the 2019–20 season….GBA.

Club City
Unión Santa Fe
Vélez Sarsfield Buenos Aires

What does Concacaf stand for?

North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football
The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) was founded in 1961 and serves as the organizing body for 41 national associations, including the United States, and spans from Canada in the north to Suriname in the south.

What is Conmebol stand for?

South American Football Confederation
The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL, /ˈkɒnmɪbɒl/, or CSF; Spanish: Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol; Portuguese: Confederação Sul-Americana de Futebol) is the continental governing body of football in South America (apart from Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana), and it is one of FIFA’s six …

Can Canada play in Copa America?

Canada earned an automatic berth in the Confederations Cup with their Gold Cup win. “The Copa America is a very prestigious tournament and it’s a great honor for Canada” said Canadian Men’s World Cup Team Head Coach Holger Osieck.

How many countries qualify for Copa America?

In this edition of the competition all ten (10) of the confederations members will participate: Brazil, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Who has won more World Cups Europe or South America?

World Cup Rivalries A European nation has lifted the trophy 11 times while South Americans have been victorious 9 times. Other European countries to have won are Italy, England, France and Spain.

What is the best soccer team in South America?

FIFA ranking of men’s national soccer teams in Latin America and the Caribbean as of September 2021

Characteristic Ranking points
Brazil 1,812
Argentina 1,725
Mexico 1,666
Uruguay 1,645

How many football leagues are there in South America?

There are two football confederations, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL, each holding its own tournaments, so far with no Pan-American tournament (a 1960s trial was not continued). CONMEBOL organized the first Copa América in 1916, known as the Campeonato Sudamericano de Fútbol.

What is the most popular soccer team in South America?

With around 44 million fans, Flamengo, from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, was the most popular soccer club in South America as of mid-2021. It was followed by the also Brazilian SC Corinthians Paulista, which had more than 39 million fans.

Which is the most prestigious soccer tournament in South America?

The Copa Libertadores is the most prestigious prize in South American domestic soccer, an annual tournament to decide the best club team on the continent.

Are there any football federations in South America?

Most South American football federations are part of CONMEBOL (the South American Football Confederation). There are a few exceptions: the associations based in the Guianas, which are part of CONCACAF (the North American Football Confederation), and the Falkland Islands /Islas Malvinas.

Where was the first South American Football Championship held?

In 1916, the first edition of the “Campeonato Sudamericano de Fútbol” (South-American Football Championship), now known as the ” Copa América “, was contested in Argentina to commemorate the centenary of the Argentine Declaration of Independence.

Where does the Copa America Soccer Tournament take place?

The Copa America has been hosted in many of South America’s most stunning destinations, and the 2019 tournament is no exception. Brazil will be the hosts, meaning the final will take place on July 7th 2019 in the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, which is among the most historic sporting venues in the world.