Which primates are catarrhines?

Which primates are catarrhines?

Catarrhines include gibbons, orangutans, gorillas, chimpanzees, and humans. Two superfamilies that make up the parvorder Catarrhini are Cercopithecoidea (Old World monkeys) and Hominoidea (apes).

Who are Platyrrhines and catarrhines?

Platyrrhines refer to the parvorder Platyrrhini, consisting of flat-nosed simians, having more flatter noses than those other simians, with sideways-facing nostrils, while catarrhines refer to the second parvorder, parvorder Catarrhini, consisting of simians with hooked noses with nostrils facing downward.

Are New World monkeys catarrhines?

Classification and evolution The distinction between apes and monkeys is complicated by the traditional paraphyly of monkeys: Apes emerged as a sister group of Old World monkeys in the catarrhines, which are a sister group of New World monkeys.

Which of the following is an example of a Platyrrhine?

Platyrrhines include marmosets, tamarins, capuchins, squirrel monkeys, owl monkeys, titis, sakis, uakaris, woolly monkeys, etc. They are small to mid-sized primates.

Which of the following are hominoids?

Apes (Hominoidea) are a group of primates that includes 22 species. Apes, also referred to as hominoids, include chimpanzees, gorillas, orangutans, and gibbons. Although humans are classified within the Hominoidea, the term ape is not applied to humans and refers instead to all non-human hominoids.

Are baboons Catarrhines?

Baboons are the biggest of the old world monkeys, especially the males. The Catarrhine family includes more folivores. They share their habitats with prosimians and apes, so there’re a lot of niches lying around which aren’t filled by the old world monkeys since some other primate filled it first.

How are platyrrhines and catarrhines different?

Catarrhines and platyrrhines are distinguished by the shape of their nostrils. Catarrhines have narrow downward facing nostrils, while platyrrhines have broad, flat, sideways facing nostrils. There are certain physical features that help set primates apart from other animals.

What is the difference between Strepsirrhines and Haplorhines?

Strepsirhines have longer snouts, smaller brains and a more highly developed sense of smell than haplorhines. Haplorhines have shorter faces, larger brains and a more highly developed sense of vision than Strepsirhines; their eyes face more forward than the eyes of strepsirhines.

Are all monkeys arboreal?

Due to this reproductive isolation, New World monkeys and Old World monkeys underwent separate adaptive radiations over millions of years. The New World monkeys are all arboreal, whereas Old World monkeys include arboreal and ground-dwelling species.

Are Old World monkeys diurnal or nocturnal?

Thus, owl monkeys represent a remarkable exception among anthropoid primates (Old World monkeys, New World monkeys, apes, and humans), as the only nocturnal genus.

Is a spider monkey a platyrrhine?

The five families are ranked together as the Ceboidea /sɛˈbɔɪdiːə/, the only extant superfamily in the parvorder Platyrrhini /plætɪˈraɪnaɪ/. Monkeys in the family Atelidae, such as the spider monkey, are the only primates to have prehensile tails.

Is a squirrel monkey a platyrrhine?

Saimiri sciureus, the squirrel monkey is a South American or New World monkey. South American monkeys or platyrrhines comprise one of the two infraorders (Platyrrhini and Catarrhini) of anthropoid primates.

What kind of Monkey is a catarrhine?

Alternative Title: Catarrhini. In monkey: Old World monkeys versus New World monkeys …together they are classified as catarrhines (meaning “downward-nosed” in Latin). The New World monkeys are the platyrrhines (“flat-nosed”), a group comprising five families.

What are the superfamilies of a catarrhine?

In addition, the superfamilies of catarrhines include Propliopithecoidea, Pliopithecoidea, Dendropithecoidea, Saadanioidea, Parapithecoidea, Cercopithecoidea, and Hominoidea.

Which is the only primate to have opposable thumbs?

In Tertiary Period: Primates …include the emergence of the catarrhines (Old World monkeys, apes, and humans) in Africa and the platyrrhines (New World monkeys) in South America. The catarrhines are the only group to possess truly opposable thumbs.

Why are catarrhines not in the Old World?

Catarrhines tend to have a narrower range of niches. They share their habitats with prosimians and apes, so there’re a lot of niches lying around which aren’t filled by the old world monkeys since some other primate filled it first.